Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

Derbyshire Dales, in numbers

People and living standards: Derbyshire Dales

Derbyshire Dales local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Derbyshire Dales local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 67,906 in 1991 to 72,028 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire Dales council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 68,591 people in 1996; 72,028 people in 2025. 5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Derbyshire Dales council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199167,906
199268,081
199368,080
199467,953
199568,407
199668,591
199768,673
199869,200
199969,679
200069,800
200169,418
200269,392
200369,368
200469,536
200569,509
200669,526
200769,850
200870,450
200970,705
201071,030
201171,104
201271,272
201371,148
201471,154
201570,893
201670,883
201771,092
201871,130
201971,190
202070,972
202171,659
202271,713
202372,027
202471,762
202572,028
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire Dales council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,269 people in 1996; 9,942 people in 2025. 19% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Derbyshire Dales council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,587
199212,517
199312,538
199412,442
199512,450
199612,269
199712,269
199812,434
199912,835
200012,941
200112,674
200212,625
200312,523
200412,539
200512,426
200612,273
200712,112
200812,120
200912,018
201011,944
201111,753
201211,640
201311,457
201411,205
201511,043
201610,894
201710,852
201810,772
201910,674
202010,459
202110,415
202210,416
202310,439
202410,141
20259,942
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire Dales council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 43,551 people in 1996; 40,523 people in 2025. 7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Derbyshire Dales council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199142,886
199243,008
199342,915
199442,930
199543,308
199643,551
199743,544
199843,775
199943,900
200043,758
200143,559
200243,399
200343,289
200443,262
200543,173
200643,245
200743,557
200843,769
200943,546
201043,590
201143,414
201242,891
201342,340
201442,152
201541,612
201641,327
201741,263
201840,995
201940,949
202040,747
202141,122
202240,860
202340,804
202440,552
202540,523
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire Dales council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,771 people in 1996; 21,563 people in 2025. 68.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Derbyshire Dales council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,433
199212,556
199312,627
199412,581
199512,649
199612,771
199712,860
199812,991
199912,944
200013,101
200113,185
200213,368
200313,556
200413,735
200513,910
200614,008
200714,181
200814,561
200915,141
201015,496
201115,937
201216,741
201317,351
201417,797
201518,238
201618,662
201718,977
201819,363
201919,567
202019,766
202120,122
202220,437
202320,784
202421,069
202521,563
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 71,535 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Derbyshire Dales · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh5180.7%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African1690.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7231%
White69,94097.8%
Other ethnic group1850.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 71,116 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Derbyshire Dales · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White70,11798.6%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups4660.7%
Asian/Asian British3980.6%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British870.1%
Other ethnic group480.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 69,468 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Derbyshire Dales · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White68,83099.1%
Mixed2680.4%
Asian/Asian British1450.2%
Black/Black British860.1%
Chinese/Other1390.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 25.1% above the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Derbyshire Dales council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £12,636 per person in 1997; £32,486 per person in 2024. 157.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Derbyshire Dales council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199712,636
199812,975
199913,223
200014,224
200114,743
200215,127
200316,067
200416,945
200517,633
200618,362
200719,531
200819,847
200919,422
201019,770
201119,930
201220,329
201321,688
201422,297
201524,100
201623,839
201723,852
201825,041
201925,559
202024,355
202125,020
202227,579
202330,157
202432,486
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Derbyshire Dales council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: 19.1% in 1997; 25.1% in 2024. 6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Derbyshire Dales council area: full reviewed history
Period%
199719.1
199819.8
199916.9
200019.5
200119.2
200219.6
200323.3
200424.9
200525.4
200625.4
200727.3
200826
200921.3
201022.4
201122.3
201220.4
201323.8
201423.3
201526.7
201623.8
201721.1
201822.7
201921.3
202016
202114.5
202220.1
202323.3
202425.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

54.4%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire Dales local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

13.7%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire Dales local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

15.7%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire Dales local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire Dales local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£355,000

July 2026 · Derbyshire Dales local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£819

August 2026 · Derbyshire Dales local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.