Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Derbyshire, in numbers

Projects: South Derbyshire

South Derbyshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.

3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.

Kinder Drive and Beamish Close, Mickleover

New House Farm council homes

New one-bedroom apartments with solar panels are being offered through the council housing register.

First ten homes ready to let · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: South Derbyshire District Council

What the source says: The October 2026 announcement records ten homes ready for letting; it does not say all are occupied or quantify household bill savings.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

New House Farm homes ready for letting →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Turn ready homes into secure tenancies →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

William Nadin Way, Swadlincote

Swadlincote leisure centre and council offices

The replacement leisure centre is planned with sports, swimming, community space and council offices.

Construction partner appointed; enabling works begun · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: South Derbyshire District Council

What the source says: The July announcement appoints Wates and records enabling work. Spring/summer 2028 opening remains a forecast.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Swadlincote construction partner appointment →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Manage the move from ageing civic facilities →

Connect the new leisure centre to the town →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →

Swadlincote Civic Site and town centre

Swadlincote town-centre masterplan

The plan addresses ageing civic buildings and the future relationship between uses, streets and public spaces.

Masterplan prepared · source does not state a status date

Responsible body: South Derbyshire District Council

What the source says: The council appointed consultants in 2026 and publishes the final masterplan. A plan does not establish funding or construction of every proposal.

Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?

Progress, funding and source
Cost
Not established by the evidence checked.
Funding
Not established by the evidence checked.
Area covered
Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.

No verified ward footprint is assigned.

Swadlincote Town Centre Masterplan →

Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.

Questions for the next progress report

  • What is the approved cost, including ongoing maintenance?
  • Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
  • Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
  • What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?

Manage the move from ageing civic facilities →

Keep masterplan ambitions tied to deliverable phases →

Make room for homes people can afford →

Connect local skills to local opportunities →

Target support where disadvantages overlap →

How to track delivery →