Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

South Derbyshire, in numbers

People and living standards: South Derbyshire

South Derbyshire local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

South Derbyshire local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 72,694 in 1991 to 119,441 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

South Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 76,803 people in 1996; 119,441 people in 2025. 55.5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — South Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199172,694
199273,267
199373,880
199474,435
199575,392
199676,803
199777,817
199879,334
199979,703
200080,678
200181,738
200283,480
200385,312
200486,506
200587,832
200689,295
200790,655
200892,023
200993,015
201094,095
201194,915
201295,521
201396,193
201497,213
201597,682
201698,630
201799,868
2018101,194
2019103,315
2020105,265
2021108,051
2022111,144
2023114,296
2024117,169
2025119,441
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

South Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 15,591 people in 1996; 22,173 people in 2025. 42.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — South Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199114,832
199215,047
199315,183
199415,283
199515,312
199615,591
199715,716
199815,997
199916,314
200016,587
200116,802
200217,150
200317,469
200417,701
200517,847
200618,061
200718,205
200818,373
200918,473
201018,708
201118,639
201218,705
201318,761
201418,807
201518,694
201618,833
201719,072
201819,232
201919,566
202019,866
202120,296
202220,972
202321,426
202421,827
202522,173
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

South Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 50,039 people in 1996; 74,600 people in 2025. 49.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — South Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199146,977
199247,303
199347,756
199448,200
199549,075
199650,039
199750,807
199851,978
199951,893
200052,465
200153,040
200254,235
200355,568
200456,459
200557,438
200658,528
200759,412
200860,197
200960,669
201061,001
201161,470
201261,209
201361,251
201461,568
201561,722
201662,125
201762,672
201863,276
201964,500
202065,782
202167,627
202269,453
202371,473
202473,222
202574,600
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

South Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 11,173 people in 1996; 22,668 people in 2025. 102.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — South Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199110,885
199210,917
199310,941
199410,952
199511,005
199611,173
199711,294
199811,359
199911,496
200011,626
200111,896
200212,095
200312,275
200412,346
200512,547
200612,706
200713,038
200813,453
200913,873
201014,386
201114,806
201215,607
201316,181
201416,838
201517,266
201617,672
201718,124
201818,686
201919,249
202019,617
202120,128
202220,719
202321,397
202422,120
202522,668
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 107,206 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Derbyshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh3,8413.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8550.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,9341.8%
White99,83693.1%
Other ethnic group7400.7%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 94,611 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Derbyshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White90,52795.7%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,0621.1%
Asian/Asian British2,3752.5%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British4250.4%
Other ethnic group2220.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 81,562 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · South Derbyshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White79,29997.2%
Mixed4640.6%
Asian/Asian British1,3371.6%
Black/Black British1950.2%
Chinese/Other2670.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 7.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

South Derbyshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £10,397 per person in 1997; £24,055 per person in 2024. 131.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — South Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
199710,397
199810,573
199911,390
200011,693
200112,009
200212,226
200313,116
200413,544
200513,842
200614,275
200714,884
200815,028
200915,129
201015,038
201115,518
201216,090
201316,789
201417,210
201518,273
201618,341
201718,388
201819,211
201920,154
202020,077
202120,511
202221,184
202322,645
202424,055
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

South Derbyshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -2% in 1997; -7.4% in 2024. 5.4 percentage points lower.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — South Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-2
1998-2.3
19990.7
2000-1.8
2001-2.9
2002-3.4
20030.6
2004-0.2
2005-1.5
2006-2.5
2007-3
2008-4.6
2009-5.5
2010-6.9
2011-4.8
2012-4.7
2013-4.1
2014-4.8
2015-4
2016-4.8
2017-6.7
2018-5.9
2019-4.4
2020-4.4
2021-6.1
2022-7.7
2023-7.4
2024-7.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

62%

21 March 2021 · South Derbyshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

14.1%

21 March 2021 · South Derbyshire local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

16%

21 March 2021 · South Derbyshire local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

4.6%

21 March 2021 · South Derbyshire local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£262,000

July 2026 · South Derbyshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£882

August 2026 · South Derbyshire local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.