The local plans, investments and decisions worth following.
3 selected records checked against official sources. A plan is not a completed project; each record shows the stage its source establishes.
Long Eaton
Britannia Mills canal crossing
A new walking and cycling bridge connects the former industrial site with the other side of the canal.
Opened in June 2026 · evidence dated 2026-06-25
Responsible body: Erewash Borough Council
What the source says: The council records an official opening on 25 June 2026. This is separate from the Broad Street replacement bridge.
Next thing to establish: Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Around £2.1 million
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Britannia Mills bridge opening →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Use the new canal crossing as a daily route →
How to track delivery →Long Eaton town centre
Long Eaton High Street improvements
Paving, public space and pedestrian changes accompany the market’s proposed return to Market Place.
June start announced · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Erewash Borough Council
What the source says: The announcement sets out the start and access arrangements. It does not establish completion of the whole scheme.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- £10 million project within the £25 million Town Deal
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Long Eaton town-centre works →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Keep Long Eaton accessible while streets change →
Connect local skills to local opportunities →
How to track delivery →Ilkeston, Long Eaton, Kirk Hallam and other named sites
Borough playground renewal
Twelve playground replacements and safety work at a thirteenth site address worn equipment.
Investment programme announced · source does not state a status date
Responsible body: Erewash Borough Council
What the source says: The council distinguishes the proposed programme from already opened West Park and Wash Meadows play areas. Forecast work dates are not completion evidence.
Next thing to establish: What dated decision or progress report confirms the current stage?
Progress, funding and source
- Cost
- Almost £2 million programme
- Funding
- Not established by the evidence checked.
- Area covered
- Named project location only. No verified current ward impact footprint; no ward-wide effect is inferred.
No verified ward footprint is assigned.
Erewash play-area investment →
Source checked 2026-10-17. A plan or announcement is not proof of completion.
Questions for the next progress report
- Which funding is committed, and what remains conditional?
- Which neighbourhoods are covered by an official project plan, and which benefits still need testing?
- What is the next published milestone, and what evidence will show residents benefit?
Choose play equipment with local families →
Do not count planned playgrounds as delivered →
Target support where disadvantages overlap →
How to track delivery →