Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

Erewash, in numbers

People and living standards: Erewash

Erewash local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Erewash local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 106,691 in 1991 to 113,474 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Erewash council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 106,853 people in 1996; 113,474 people in 2025. 6.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Erewash council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991106,691
1992106,701
1993106,683
1994106,771
1995106,485
1996106,853
1997107,128
1998108,344
1999108,422
2000109,371
2001110,126
2002110,250
2003110,080
2004110,068
2005110,102
2006109,979
2007110,184
2008110,809
2009111,283
2010111,739
2011112,249
2012112,716
2013112,871
2014113,639
2015113,984
2016114,249
2017114,129
2018114,181
2019113,711
2020113,348
2021113,039
2022112,905
2023113,988
2024113,816
2025113,474
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Erewash council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 22,164 people in 1996; 18,732 people in 2025. 15.5% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Erewash council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199121,257
199221,442
199321,691
199422,072
199522,061
199622,164
199722,152
199822,297
199922,487
200022,691
200122,507
200222,244
200321,974
200421,598
200521,262
200620,908
200720,454
200820,345
200920,189
201020,034
201120,074
201220,112
201320,131
201420,108
201520,263
201620,220
201720,148
201820,099
201919,863
202019,604
202119,334
202219,280
202319,399
202419,093
202518,732
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Erewash council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 67,758 people in 1996; 70,225 people in 2025. 3.6% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Erewash council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199168,875
199268,588
199368,261
199467,970
199567,624
199667,758
199767,913
199868,859
199968,708
200069,347
200170,169
200270,413
200370,339
200470,632
200570,821
200670,931
200771,380
200871,734
200971,849
201071,993
201172,008
201271,582
201371,176
201471,473
201571,380
201671,327
201771,058
201870,904
201970,384
202070,220
202170,095
202269,904
202370,613
202470,404
202570,225
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Erewash council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 16,931 people in 1996; 24,517 people in 2025. 44.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Erewash council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199116,559
199216,671
199316,731
199416,729
199516,800
199616,931
199717,063
199817,188
199917,227
200017,333
200117,450
200217,593
200317,767
200417,838
200518,019
200618,140
200718,350
200818,730
200919,245
201019,712
201120,167
201221,022
201321,564
201422,058
201522,341
201622,702
201722,923
201823,178
201923,464
202023,524
202123,610
202223,721
202323,976
202424,319
202524,517
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 112,908 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Erewash · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh1,7881.6%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African8710.8%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups2,0481.8%
White107,76995.4%
Other ethnic group4320.4%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 112,081 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Erewash · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White108,76597%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups1,2691.1%
Asian/Asian British1,3831.2%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British5360.5%
Other ethnic group1280.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 110,100 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Erewash · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White107,95798.1%
Mixed7200.7%
Asian/Asian British7830.7%
Black/Black British4210.4%
Chinese/Other2190.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 14.4% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Erewash council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,819 per person in 1997; £22,222 per person in 2024. 184.2% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Erewash council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,819
19988,030
19998,624
20008,761
20019,139
20029,510
200310,402
200410,968
200511,338
200611,875
200712,479
200812,711
200913,059
201013,078
201113,693
201214,170
201314,839
201415,108
201516,015
201616,201
201716,232
201817,032
201917,769
202018,047
202118,586
202219,478
202320,785
202422,222
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Erewash council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -26.3% in 1997; -14.4% in 2024. 11.9 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Erewash council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-26.3
1998-25.8
1999-23.8
2000-26.4
2001-26.1
2002-24.8
2003-20.2
2004-19.2
2005-19.3
2006-18.9
2007-18.7
2008-19.3
2009-18.4
2010-19
2011-16
2012-16.1
2013-15.3
2014-16.5
2015-15.8
2016-15.9
2017-17.6
2018-16.5
2019-15.7
2020-14
2021-14.9
2022-15.2
2023-15
2024-14.4
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

58.8%

21 March 2021 · Erewash local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

18.1%

21 March 2021 · Erewash local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

19.8%

21 March 2021 · Erewash local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.7%

21 March 2021 · Erewash local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£218,000

July 2026 · Erewash local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£834

August 2026 · Erewash local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.