Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

Derbyshire, in numbers

People and living standards

Derbyshire County Council area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Derbyshire County Council area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 713,531 in 1991 to 827,217 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 720,526 people in 1996; 827,217 people in 2025. 14.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991713,531
1992715,652
1993716,987
1994717,403
1995718,945
1996720,526
1997721,649
1998725,199
1999728,112
2000731,897
2001734,888
2002738,409
2003742,242
2004745,470
2005749,009
2006752,649
2007756,594
2008761,238
2009764,317
2010767,948
2011770,688
2012772,590
2013774,002
2014776,326
2015777,373
2016779,957
2017782,882
2018784,926
2019788,880
2020790,833
2021796,710
2022803,202
2023813,152
2024820,913
2025827,217
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 142,037 people in 1996; 136,766 people in 2025. 3.7% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991138,706
1992139,772
1993141,036
1994141,967
1995142,248
1996142,037
1997142,035
1998142,375
1999144,215
2000144,906
2001144,205
2002143,863
2003143,484
2004142,681
2005142,004
2006141,157
2007139,779
2008139,013
2009138,120
2010137,385
2011136,554
2012136,054
2013135,347
2014134,564
2015133,903
2016133,635
2017134,186
2018134,326
2019134,840
2020134,452
2021134,622
2022135,741
2023136,854
2024136,969
2025136,766
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 459,083 people in 1996; 500,516 people in 2025. 9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991458,286
1992458,339
1993457,796
1994457,117
1995457,842
1996459,083
1997459,625
1998462,235
1999462,781
2000464,992
2001467,456
2002470,180
2003473,390
2004476,390
2005479,406
2006482,936
2007486,415
2008488,814
2009489,106
2010489,837
2011490,087
2012486,319
2013483,918
2014482,804
2015481,509
2016481,329
2017481,354
2018480,729
2019481,242
2020481,883
2021485,298
2022487,895
2023493,417
2024497,415
2025500,516
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Derbyshire council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 119,406 people in 1996; 189,935 people in 2025. 59.1% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
1991116,539
1992117,541
1993118,155
1994118,319
1995118,855
1996119,406
1997119,989
1998120,589
1999121,116
2000121,999
2001123,227
2002124,366
2003125,368
2004126,399
2005127,599
2006128,556
2007130,400
2008133,411
2009137,091
2010140,726
2011144,047
2012150,217
2013154,737
2014158,958
2015161,961
2016164,993
2017167,342
2018169,871
2019172,798
2020174,498
2021176,790
2022179,566
2023182,881
2024186,529
2025189,935
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 794,634 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Derbyshire · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh11,6701.5%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4,0850.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups10,8511.4%
White765,29696.3%
Other ethnic group2,7320.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 769,686 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Derbyshire · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White750,09497.5%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups7,1190.9%
Asian/Asian British8,7951.1%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2,7700.4%
Other ethnic group9080.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 734,585 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Derbyshire · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White723,77298.5%
Mixed3,7960.5%
Asian/Asian British3,8500.5%
Black/Black British1,4620.2%
Chinese/Other1,7050.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 8% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Derbyshire council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,041.79 per person in 1997; £23,899.01 per person in 2024. 164.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,041.79
19989,338.13
19999,887.22
200010,263.74
200110,815.25
200211,113.08
200311,772.44
200412,304.99
200512,662.06
200613,206.69
200713,924.24
200814,061.31
200914,223.16
201014,258.78
201114,684.28
201215,186.58
201315,828.12
201416,231.58
201517,341.74
201617,341.98
201717,654
201818,386.45
201919,063.74
202019,229.09
202119,753.74
202220,682.41
202322,338.08
202423,899.01
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Derbyshire council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -14.78% in 1997; -7.96% in 2024. 6.82 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Calculated for the county from the complete exact published district-code set: sum Table1 income totals and Table2 resident populations, then divide total pounds by population. This is a UK Facts calculation, not a directly published ONS county figure. It does not average district rates. All years use the same published district rows, not reconstructed historical councils. Source totals are rounded to £million, so derived per-person amounts have additional rounding uncertainty. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Derbyshire council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-14.78
1998-13.75
1999-12.6
2000-13.77
2001-12.58
2002-12.16
2003-9.69
2004-9.34
2005-9.93
2006-9.82
2007-9.26
2008-10.72
2009-11.17
2010-11.72
2011-9.88
2012-10.09
2013-9.63
2014-10.24
2015-8.84
2016-9.94
2017-10.39
2018-9.91
2019-9.53
2020-8.39
2021-9.57
2022-9.94
2023-8.64
2024-7.96
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.5%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

17.7%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire County Council area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

18.9%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire County Council area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5.9%

21 March 2021 · Derbyshire County Council area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£238,000

July 2026 · Derbyshire County Council area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.