Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

High Peak, in numbers

People and living standards: High Peak

High Peak local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

High Peak local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 85,482 in 1991 to 91,676 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

High Peak council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 87,320 people in 1996; 91,676 people in 2025. 5% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — High Peak council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199185,482
199286,023
199386,347
199486,535
199587,106
199687,320
199787,533
199887,777
199988,129
200089,009
200189,400
200289,323
200389,185
200489,261
200589,627
200690,050
200790,553
200890,858
200991,047
201091,063
201190,982
201290,983
201390,930
201490,860
201590,766
201690,812
201790,991
201890,895
201991,170
202090,909
202191,079
202291,093
202391,733
202491,892
202591,676
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

High Peak council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 18,379 people in 1996; 14,684 people in 2025. 20.1% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — High Peak council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199117,761
199218,040
199318,236
199418,393
199518,445
199618,379
199718,365
199818,374
199918,487
200018,589
200118,425
200218,209
200317,921
200417,693
200517,586
200617,463
200717,257
200817,010
200916,906
201016,681
201116,476
201216,363
201316,158
201415,887
201515,653
201615,531
201715,503
201815,502
201915,542
202015,345
202115,252
202215,215
202315,164
202414,980
202514,684
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

High Peak council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 55,821 people in 1996; 55,168 people in 2025. 1.2% lower between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — High Peak council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199155,076
199255,174
199355,217
199455,176
199555,611
199655,821
199755,923
199856,041
199956,212
200056,824
200157,138
200257,144
200357,237
200457,462
200557,761
200658,282
200758,789
200859,041
200958,981
201058,877
201158,694
201258,144
201357,722
201457,341
201557,108
201656,856
201756,773
201856,355
201956,163
202055,914
202155,865
202255,552
202355,746
202455,545
202555,168
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

High Peak council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 13,120 people in 1996; 21,824 people in 2025. 66.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — High Peak council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199112,645
199212,809
199312,894
199412,966
199513,050
199613,120
199713,245
199813,362
199913,430
200013,596
200113,837
200213,970
200314,027
200414,106
200514,280
200614,305
200714,507
200814,807
200915,160
201015,505
201115,812
201216,476
201317,050
201417,632
201518,005
201618,425
201718,715
201819,038
201919,465
202019,650
202119,962
202220,326
202320,823
202421,367
202521,824
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 90,935 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · High Peak · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh6940.8%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African2230.2%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups1,1851.3%
White88,61497.4%
Other ethnic group2190.2%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 90,892 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · High Peak · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White88,95497.9%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups9441%
Asian/Asian British7110.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British1840.2%
Other ethnic group990.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 89,433 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · High Peak · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White88,30998.7%
Mixed5130.6%
Asian/Asian British2050.2%
Black/Black British1540.2%
Chinese/Other2520.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 2.5% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

High Peak council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £9,217 per person in 1997; £25,328 per person in 2024. 174.8% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — High Peak council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19979,217
19989,542
199910,054
200010,464
200110,902
200211,259
200312,193
200412,841
200513,194
200613,736
200714,502
200814,830
200914,982
201015,012
201115,699
201216,176
201316,996
201417,419
201518,690
201618,806
201718,911
201819,250
201919,723
202020,027
202120,638
202221,342
202323,378
202425,328
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

High Peak council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -13.1% in 1997; -2.5% in 2024. 10.6 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — High Peak council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-13.1
1998-11.9
1999-11.1
2000-12.1
2001-11.9
2002-11
2003-6.5
2004-5.4
2005-6.1
2006-6.2
2007-5.5
2008-5.8
2009-6.4
2010-7
2011-3.7
2012-4.2
2013-3
2014-3.7
2015-1.8
2016-2.3
2017-4
2018-5.7
2019-6.4
2020-4.6
2021-5.5
2022-7.1
2023-4.4
2024-2.5
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

59%

21 March 2021 · High Peak local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

15.2%

21 March 2021 · High Peak local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

14.9%

21 March 2021 · High Peak local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

5%

21 March 2021 · High Peak local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£259,000

July 2026 · High Peak local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£937

August 2026 · High Peak local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.