Skip to content
Derbyshire Counts — Derbyshire, in numbers.Local help →

Bolsover, in numbers

People and living standards: Bolsover

Bolsover local authority area. Every figure carries its own date.

How the population is changing, who lives here and what living standards look like.

Bolsover local authority area. These are council-area figures. They are not a separate history for every ward or the city centre.

More people? A different age mix?

The population grew from 70,952 in 1991 to 84,397 in 2025.

A growing number of children, working-age adults or older residents can mean different needs for homes, schools, jobs and care.

Population

1996 to 2025

Bolsover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 70,343 people in 1996; 84,397 people in 2025. 20% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Population — Bolsover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199170,952
199271,177
199370,820
199470,312
199570,331
199670,343
199770,267
199870,570
199970,697
200071,188
200171,887
200272,527
200373,343
200473,601
200573,844
200674,347
200774,822
200875,058
200975,224
201075,691
201176,029
201276,505
201376,811
201477,074
201577,625
201677,870
201778,444
201878,566
201979,178
202079,647
202180,473
202281,480
202382,774
202483,679
202584,397
Source →
People aged 0 to 15

People aged 0 to 15

1996 to 2025

Bolsover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 14,027 people in 1996; 14,230 people in 2025. 1.4% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 0 to 15 — Bolsover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199113,788
199213,897
199313,975
199413,938
199514,060
199614,027
199714,079
199814,102
199914,135
200014,310
200114,243
200214,269
200314,389
200414,242
200514,145
200614,179
200714,101
200813,975
200913,868
201013,782
201113,686
201213,723
201313,729
201413,723
201513,727
201613,631
201713,767
201813,765
201913,857
202013,924
202113,939
202213,998
202314,175
202414,177
202514,230
Source →
People aged 16 to 64

People aged 16 to 64

1996 to 2025

Bolsover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 44,126 people in 1996; 52,453 people in 2025. 18.9% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 16 to 64 — Bolsover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199145,256
199245,241
199344,743
199444,245
199544,099
199644,126
199743,964
199844,236
199944,261
200044,525
200145,152
200245,677
200346,284
200446,673
200547,007
200647,488
200747,917
200848,093
200948,069
201048,286
201148,447
201248,432
201348,430
201448,456
201548,761
201648,896
201749,123
201849,088
201949,284
202049,522
202150,188
202250,802
202351,610
202452,193
202552,453
Source →
People aged 65 or over

People aged 65 or over

1996 to 2025

Bolsover council area · people

Reviewed figures: 1991 to 2025. The chart opens on the latest 30 years; choose All history for the full reviewed record.

Shown on this chart: 12,190 people in 1996; 17,714 people in 2025. 45.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published annual mid-year population estimates, both sexes. Exact requested ONS area code; source geography vintage retained. Latest revised source series is used throughout; no years are interpolated and no ward values are inferred.

Mid-year estimates, not census counts. Historical revisions and boundaries follow this one published series.

This is the whole stated area, not a ward or necessarily the named city settlement.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

People aged 65 or over — Bolsover council area: full reviewed history
Periodpeople
199111,908
199212,039
199312,102
199412,129
199512,172
199612,190
199712,224
199812,232
199912,301
200012,353
200112,492
200212,581
200312,670
200412,686
200512,692
200612,680
200712,804
200812,990
200913,287
201013,623
201113,896
201214,350
201314,652
201414,895
201515,137
201615,343
201715,554
201815,713
201916,037
202016,201
202116,346
202216,680
202316,989
202417,309
202517,714
Source →

Population growth alone does not show whether services are under pressure. Capacity, location and residents’ needs also matter.

How residents described their ethnic group

These are census snapshots, not annual estimates. Open a year to see both the number of people and their share of the population.

2021 census · 80,270 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bolsover · 2021
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
Asian, Asian British or Asian Welsh7220.9%
Black, Black British, Black Welsh, Caribbean or African4190.5%
Mixed or Multiple ethnic groups7440.9%
White78,14397.4%
Other ethnic group2420.3%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2011 census · 75,866 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bolsover · 2011
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White74,45298.1%
Mixed/multiple ethnic groups5180.7%
Asian/Asian British6120.8%
Black/African/Caribbean/Black British2670.4%
Other ethnic group170%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →
2001 census · 71,765 residents
How this census compares with other years

Census snapshots use the categories and boundaries published for each year. They are not annual estimates. In England and Wales, Chinese moved from Chinese/Other in 2001 to Asian in 2011; mixed categories and later write-in categories also changed. No change is calculated across these categories.

Ethnic group · Bolsover · 2001
Residents’ census answerPeopleShare
White71,13499.1%
Mixed2230.3%
Asian/Asian British2300.3%
Black/Black British740.1%
Chinese/Other1040.1%

Census wording and the available categories can change. The tables retain the categories published for each year; they are not automatically like-for-like trends.

Source and method →

A complete, comparable 30-year ethnicity history is not available for every current area. Missing years have not been estimated.

How comfortable is life here?

Pay, housing costs, health and opportunities tell different parts of the story. An area average can hide large differences between households.

In 2024, average disposable income per person was 22.1% below the UK average.

Money available to spend or save per person

1997 to 2024

Bolsover council area · Cash prices, before allowing for inflation

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: £7,861 per person in 1997; £20,224 per person in 2024. 157.3% higher between these observations.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Money available to spend or save per person — Bolsover council area: full reviewed history
Period£ per person, current prices
19977,861
19988,158
19998,747
20008,957
20019,661
20029,809
200310,080
200410,433
200510,681
200611,150
200711,724
200811,635
200911,965
201011,911
201112,150
201212,641
201312,859
201413,261
201513,953
201613,972
201714,674
201814,983
201915,607
202016,418
202117,162
202217,775
202319,008
202420,224
Source →
Has the gap with the UK average changed?

Above zero means income is above the UK average; below zero means it is below. Each year is compared with the UK average for that same year.

Income above or below the UK average

1997 to 2024

Bolsover council area · %

Reviewed figures: 1997 to 2024. This reviewed record covers fewer than 30 years, so the chart opens on all of it.

Shown on this chart: -25.9% in 1997; -22.1% in 2024. 3.8 percentage points higher.

The line joins consecutive published observations.

Data table and workings

Published ONS table values from one 1997–2024 release, matched by exact source geography code. Table3 per-person values are retained, not recalculated from rounded totals. Source country/region references are the official published totals, not averages of selected councils. Displayed as the published UK=100 value minus 100, giving the percentage above or below the UK average.

Amounts are in cash prices for each year and include inflation. A rise does not by itself show an increase in purchasing power.

This is an average per resident, including children and retired people, not the income of a typical household, wages or wealth.

These are official statistics in development, combining administrative and survey inputs. The Annual Population Survey contributes to some components; it is not the sole source.

The 2024 estimates are provisional. Earlier years have been revised within this single release; no release editions are spliced.

The UK index compares each year with the UK average in that same year. It is not an inflation-adjusted income index.

Geography as published in the ONS 19 August 2026 release; exact source code retained. The workbook does not specify a separate local-boundary effective date.

The table retains the full reviewed history when the chart is shortened. Preset ranges end at this measure’s latest published period. Yearly windows count published annual periods; monthly windows count months. Gaps are never filled with estimates.

Income above or below the UK average — Bolsover council area: full reviewed history
Period%
1997-25.9
1998-24.7
1999-22.7
2000-24.8
2001-21.9
2002-22.5
2003-22.7
2004-23.1
2005-24
2006-23.9
2007-23.6
2008-26.1
2009-25.3
2010-26.3
2011-25.4
2012-25.2
2013-26.6
2014-26.7
2015-26.7
2016-27.4
2017-25.5
2018-26.6
2019-25.9
2020-21.8
2021-21.4
2022-22.6
2023-22.3
2024-22.1
Source →

Mixed-source official estimates: administrative records and surveys. Income here is the average money per resident available to spend or save after tax and benefits. It is not typical pay or household wealth. Cash figures do not show how much prices changed.

Adults in work

57.5%

21 March 2021 · Bolsover local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents aged 16 and over

21 March 2021, residents aged 16 and over. Includes full-time students in the corresponding work/unemployment categories. Not a current labour-market estimate or the usual 16–64 employment rate. Census took place during the coronavirus pandemic; furlough and lockdown affected answers. Ward counts sum complete official output-area best-fit membership; privacy adjustment can make totals differ slightly.

Source →

Households facing several disadvantages

22.8%

21 March 2021 · Bolsover local authority area

Show the workings

All households

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Adults with no qualifications

24.2%

21 March 2021 · Bolsover local authority area

Show the workings

Residents aged 16 and over

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

People reporting bad or very bad health

7.8%

21 March 2021 · Bolsover local authority area

Show the workings

All usual residents; self-reported, not age-standardised

Published Census 2021 count; percentage uses the matching population denominator

Source →

Average home price

£183,000

July 2026 · Bolsover local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Published UK House Price Index average price, all property types and all buyers, not seasonally adjusted. Entire series comes from the 2026-07 official full-file release, preserving its historical revisions and exact area codes. It is a mix-adjusted average, not the median price paid.

Source →

Average monthly private rent

£706

August 2026 · Bolsover local authority area

Show the workings

Homes in the local authority area

Official local housing data feed. House prices are provisional, not seasonally adjusted; rents use the Price Index of Private Rents. Local short-term estimates are variable. Country references use only the explicitly country-coded ctry object, never the local place object.

Source →

Deprivation describes several kinds of disadvantage. It is not a measure of household wealth. A change in an area's ranking does not by itself show whether living conditions improved.

See differences between neighbourhoods →

What could the changes mean locally?

Use the age profile alongside school places and care capacity, and look at housing costs alongside pay. Then check whether local plans respond to the needs shown by the evidence.

Read the local action plan →
Which histories are missing or need care?

These histories describe the stated whole area. A consistent historical series for its current wards has not been established.

1991 ethnicity has not been reconstructed to this current area. No annual ethnicity values are inferred between census dates.

These local income figures include inflation. No local inflation-adjusted income series has been substituted or inferred from regional prices.

This series describes the stated council or reference area. A comparable 30-year income history for its current wards has not been established.

The reviewed release starts in 1997. Earlier income values have not been invented or joined from another definition.